How I Screwed up with the iOS 9 Update and Other Stories from the Sketchnoter’s Personal Hell

It could have been a huge disaster and it almost was when I decided to update my work iPad into iOS 9. I didn’t think at all (I admit), I was just happy and singing la-la-laa as I downloaded and installed the iOS 9 package. But it didn’t go that well.

In our household we keep our gadgets updated. Isn’t that what you’re supposed to do? There’s an update, you download it and you install it. Things are supposed to work after that. No Millennium Bugs here, right? So I updated my iPad.

Did I do the backup dance before the update? Yes and no. Automated iCloud backups had been done – but the latest was from a couple of weeks ago. So when the update didn’t go as I planned, I lost some work that I had done during the past two weeks.

That wasn’t the almost-huge-disaster.

The thing that happened with Adobe Ideas was a hit that nearly caused me a strooooooookerrhghghgh.

Photo 25.9.2015 13.16.56

So what happened?

I’ve been using Adobe Ideas roughly some five years now, basically since I started using iPad. And I’ve liked it. In fact, I still like the drawing app so much that I’ve been using it for almost all my work. Until now. Now, before you ask, yes: Adobe has offered Adobe Draw to replace the beloved Ideas, but you know what? Adobe Draw isn’t that good. I still can’t get the hang of its zoom function and the most important tools (for me) are placed like they’re in the depths of Mordor. And you still can’t send vector pdf from Adobe Draw directly via e-mail. So Adobe Draw just isn’t the app for me. (For God’s sake, do something about that app!)

Make the switch to Adobe Illustrator Draw? No thanks.

Make the switch to Adobe Illustrator Draw? No thanks.

After the update I tried to access Adobe Ideas. Crash. Oh, let’s try again. Crash. What the fuuuuuu…. Crash. Crash. Crash.

My Adobe Ideas died in the iOS 9 update. And I couldn’t get access to my work. All my work. Had I been using the Adobe Creative Cloud? No. Why? Because… I hadn’t had the time. And energy. And I had nearly forgotten about it. And the password. With numbers. And Capital Letters. And and and. And to make things worse, I was having a real-time live illustration gig the next day.

Knight in shining armor

Luckily, there was a solution. The only thing I could think of was to go to the nearest iStore and get a new iPad. So I went to iLaakso and bought an iPad Air 2 (and got some discount for the iPad cover because I promised to mention them in my blog). It still had iOS 8 so I was able to restore my iCloud back-up into it. And my beloved Adobe Ideas. The only thing that I lost (for now) was the drawing work that I had done in the past couple of weeks.

So now I’m using a new iPad with and old OS just to be able to use Adobe Ideas. I know this is temporarily but before I find a suitable drawing app, I have to do this.

What did I learn?

What doesn’t kill you makes you angry stronger. But I also (hopefully) learned something.

  1. Never-ever be the first that updates the gadgets.
  2. Never-ever update your most important work iPad unless you’ve tried the update with some other iDevice.
  3. Make sure you’ve got the fresh back-up file. Really. You stupid woman.
  4. You should have probably started finding a drawing app to replace the Ideas a lot sooner.
  5. It’s advisable to admit your own stupidity so that others can avoid making the same mistakes.

Photo 17.9.2015 11.26.13

So thanks, iLaakso. You saved my day.

My question to you, my dear readers (all three of you): Which drawing app do you prefer? I tried an app called Concepts and it feels pretty good. It still lacks the send pdf function but otherwise than that I get good vibes. Which app would you recommend?


One comment


Leave a Reply

